Leadership sets the pace for success.

The Tourism Authority Board of Directors set the policy and strategic direction of the Bureau. The Board of Directors consists of stakeholders within the community who come together to guide the Bureau in driving visitation to Cabarrus County to generate the maximum impact through hotel stays and visitor spending.

Duties:
Board Members are required to attend 75% of the meetings annually, be willing to serve actively on committees as needed as well as in the monthly meetings. Board Members are eligible to request for Appointment for an additional three-year term upon their initial term expiration. The Board is also required to abide by the bylaws and the conflict of interest policy set forth by the Bureau.

Cabarrus County Tourism Authority Board
The Executive Committee consists of Owen Parker as Board Chair, Terry Crawford as Treasurer and Greg Walter as Secretary.

Nominated By Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners
Diane Honeycutt
Cabarrus County Commissioner
Seat Number 4
BOC Member or County Manager (At-Large)
diane.honeycutt@allentate.com
Appointment: 7/18/16
(unexpired term)
Reappointment: 6/18/18
Reappointment: 6/21/21
Term Expiring: 6/30/24
Mike Downs
Cabarrus County
Seat Number 1
At-Large
mkdowns@cabarruscounty.us
Appointment: 6/15/20
Term Expiring: 6/30/23
Alan Benson
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Concord Golf Resort & Spa
Seat Number 7
Hotelier
alan.benson@atriumhospitality.com
Appointment: 9/21/20
Term Expiring: 6/30/22
Nominated By Cabarrus County Tourism Authority
Vinay Patel
SREE Hotels
Seat Number 11
Hotelier
vinay.patel@sree.com
Appointment: 7/1/21
Term Expiring: 6/30/24
Jay White
Hartsell & Williams, P.A.
Seat Number 12
At-Large
jaywhite@hwpalaw.com
Appointment: 7/17/18
(unexpired term)
Reappointment: 6/17/19
Term Expiring: 6/30/22
Terry Crawford – Treasurer
City of Concord
Seat Number 5
At-Large
tcrawford6783@gmail.com
Appointment: 6/18/18
Reappointment: 6/21/21
Term Expiring: 6/30/24
Pritesh Nagarji
ABC Investments
Seat Number 8
Hotelier
pritesh.nagarji@abcinns.com
Appointment: 2/17/14
(unexpired term)
Reappointment: 6/20/16
Reappointment: 6/17/19
Term Expiring: 6/30/22
Steve Steinbacher
Cabarrus Brewing Company
Seat Number 10
Tourism Activist
steve@cabarrusbrewing.com
Appointment: 5/21/18
(unexpired term)
Reappointment: 6/15/20
Term Expiring: 6/30/23
Greg Walter – Secretary
Charlotte Motor Speedway
Seat Number 2
Tourism Activist
gwalter@charlottemotorspeedway.com 
Appointment: 6/15/20
Term Expiring: 6/30/23
Nominated by the Cabarrus Regional Chamber of Commerce
Owen Parker – Board Chair
Hilton Garden Inn
Seat Number 6
Hotelier
owen.parker@hilton.com
Appointment: 6/18/18
Reappointment: 6/21/21
Term Expiring: 6/30/24
Tammy Whaley
Duke Energy
Seat Number 9
At-Large
tammy.whaley@duke-energy.com
Appointment: 8/19/13
(unexpired term)
Reappointment: 6/20/16
Reappointment: 6/17/19
Term Expiring: 6/30/22
Patricia Horton
Uwharrie Bank
Seat Number 3
At-Large
phorton@uwharrie.com
Appointment: 6/19/17
Reappointment: 6/15/20
Term Expiring: 6/30/23

Meet the Board

Get to know the local leaders who drive Cabarrus County’s hospitality industry!

Cabarrus County CVB President and CEO Donna Carpenter sits down with each Board Member to discuss topics such as what drives them, why tourism is critical to our local economy and what the future holds for our industry in 2021 and beyond. Click on each Board Member’s name below to view the video.

Angie Brown, Great Wolf Lodge Charlotte/Concord
Terry Crawford, City of Concord
Owen Parker, Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte/Concord
Diane Honeycutt, Cabarrus County
Mike Downs, Cabarrus County
Alan Benson, Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Concord Golf Resort & Spa
Jay White, Hartsell & Williams, P.A.
Pritesh Nagarji, ABC Investments